Product Review: Dudu Osun Black Soap

Hey there

feels good to be back with this product review. I had to hunt high and low to get this soap after a random disapperance from all the shops I would normally purchase it from, so I decided
whenever I was able to get my hands on it again, I would review it.

If you’re into natural products or have natural hair, I’m sure you would have heard a little about Dudu Osun Soap. Dudu Osun soap is manfucatured in Nigeria (Woop woop) by a company called Tropical Naturals. Dudu Osun literally means black camwood soap. Wikipedia describe camwood (scientific name Baphia nitida, also known as african sandalwood) as a shrubby, hard-wooded African tree. Its wood is commonly used to make a red dye. The earliest dye wood (Camwood) was from West Africa. There’s not a great deal on camwood on Google, but it is described as having antiseptic and skin balancing propeties. (http://shearadiance.typepad.com/shea_radiance/2009/08/african-camwood-for-skincare.html). Do check out this great article about camwood http://tribune.com.ng/index.php/natural-health/44820-scientists-corroborate-usefulness-of-cam-wood-dye-in-skin-conditions.

Dudu Osun is a type of african black soap but not the only type. Though they can be similar, african black soap will differ depending on the area it comes from and its individual batch. African black soap can come from Ghana or Nigeria or somewhere else in Africa but will differ slightly depend on where and who made the soap. As far as I am aware, real african black soap , whether Ose Dudu Osun, a black Soap from Nigeria, a Black Soap from Ghana or somewhere else in Africa SHOULD NOT BE JET BLACK IN COLOUR. If the soap is jet black in colour, this will likely be due to colouring being added and will probably not be a natural soap.

As a side note , Osun is also the name of a state in Nigeria. Osun state which contains the Obafemi Awolowo University. Its capital is Osogbo. The university is also said to be located in the ancient town of Ile-Ife, a important historical site for the Yoruba culture. Oshun, or Ochun, is an Orisha who reigns over love, intimacy, beauty, wealth and diplomacy. She is worshiped also in Brazilian Candomblé Ketu, with the name spelled Oxum. She should not be confused, however, with a different Orisha of a similar name spelled “Osun,” who is the protector of the Ori, or our heads and inner souls. ochun relates mostly to woman but also man (keep checking for the Nigerian history stuff to come, 😉 )

Although it is literally translated as black soap, Dudu Osun is infact brown in colour. It lathers well and produces a brown foam/liquid. It has an earthy smell, it’s difficult to describe, but I think it smells divine.

Ose Dudu Osun

The description of the Dudu Osun Black Soap by its company says that “Dudu- Osun is the age long African black soap made the traditional way by hand from pure natural ingredients and herbs from the tropical rain forest and savannah regions. No artificial colours No preservatives bio degradable Cleanses Nourishes Protects Refreshes your skin”

The listed ingredients are
Pure honey, shea butter, osun (camwood), palmkernel oil, cocoa pod ash, palm bunch ash, aloe vera, lime juice, water & fragrance.

My Review
I loooove Dudu Osun, I think its the Bees Knees. I use as a body soap, a facial soap and as shampoo. I love the fact its ingredients are natural, so I’m not putting unknown chemicals and random stuff on my skin. It retails in the UK black hairshops for about £1 (these are everywhere), which I wouldn’t call expensive. I can’t really speak for other countries but you can always check on Amazon, Ebay for the soap also, although it may be more expensive. I’ve been using this soap for several years with little complaints.

When using Dudu Osun, it is important to allow it to dry after you use it. Because of its natural composition , if it remains wet, it will finish more quickly.

As a word of caution, Dudu Osun can be very drying for the skin on your face (as I learnt the hard way). When using it for your face, I recommend you use it with COLD WATER. As I later learnt, because the soap contains lime juice, using this with warm/hot water can be overkill for facial skin.

It’s a product that speaks for itself, just check out its reviews on the internet. Although it’s a soap of African origin, there are no limitations on who can use it.

So if your natural girl, looking for a staple cleanser … Dudu Osun may just be the way to go!

Let me know how you find it after using it.

Memoirs Of A Yoruba Girl
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

About Memoirs Of A Yoruba Girl

A Londoner rooted in Yoruba culture exploring life behind her personal lenses

Posted on June 10, 2013, in Product Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Nice post!I adore black soap. I haven’t tried this brand, mine is from ghana but it leaves my skin spotless. I usually use it every other day as it can be drying, this way my skin gets a rest in between.

    http://www.heynaturalbeauties.com

  2. I don’t know why Dudu Osun isn’t working for me. I’ve been using it for 2 weeks now (after the 1st week I realized that I should be using it with cold water) and I’m still breaking out. I use it twice a day on my face by rubbing it onto my hand and I use Studio 35 Beauty cocoa butter lotion after using it. My dark spots and hyperpigmentation is still there and it doesn’t seem to be getting better. I’m about 16 days in to using this soap. Any specific tips on what I should do?

  3. hey there, i am in harare zimbabwe and this is my second month using the soap..at first it was drying but now my skin has gotten used to it and i absolutely love it!! problem is..everyone is commenting on how light i am getting and i am now just noticing it that i am getting light all over(coz i use the soap for both face and body). the moisturiser i am using is the same i have used for years,only thing i have changed is the soap. is it that i am using some fake soap with harsh chemicals?the packaging was exactly the same as the one on the internet. Just wanna know so that i know whether to continue using or not

  4. Dudu Osun, ha, the name alone makes one think twice. Alll in all, the ingredients labeled at the back are awesome. Be aware, this soap causes brighting to the skin, big time. Dryness is one if its downfalls; although, either face lotion or cream seem like a great cure, it is not… This soap is a lone warrior, for it is ment to be used alone. The smell reminds me of the outdoors, peace and clean clothes. I, Mike Coldbert, which is my alias, recommend Dudu Osun to those who want to remove burns and scars. Don’t use this if you have acne… Bare with me, baking soda is not suppose to be placed on your face!!! If you would like to learn why, email me at Nathansmart@post.com and yes, that’s a capital N.

  5. I love this soap and I really appreciate your background info on the name, the ingredients and the advice to let it dry before next use. That was my one complaint that a bar does not last that long.

  6. I need some of the soap to sell

  7. Hi I’m in Uganda and just got to start using this soap .its my second day but I’ve never used cool water when taking a shower .so do I have to use it coz of soap.my place z so cold

  8. Is dudu o sun different from other black soap and is it as active as them

  9. Is dudu osun different from other black soap and is it as active as them?

  1. Pingback: Why I Stopped Buying Face Cream | Memoirs.Of.A.Yoruba.Girl

  2. Pingback: Why I Stopped Buying Face Cream | Memoirs.Of.A.Yoruba.Girl

Leave a comment