Why I Stopped Buying Face Cream

I stopped buying face cream in the summer/autumn of 2013. Yes, I said it. Boots, Tesco and other supermarkets no longer get money from me in return for face cream. But why, I hear you ask. I have a weird thing about being holistic if I can be. I decided I had enough of slavering unknown chemicals and other things I could not pronounce on my face once or twice a day.

Quick science lesson, the skin is the LARGEST organ in (or on) your body. Anything you put on your skin potentially ends up in your BLOODSTREAM. This is also one of the reasons I gave up relaxing my hair, though that is another can of worms entirely for another day.

So I have a tried and tested recipe which I make at home, by myself (holistic life out here) which has replaced my previous store bought cream. (Note: when I say tried and tested, I mean tried and tested by myself, I’ve made more than 5 times now, which I would say is a fair amount of times to try it out).

Anyway, in case you were wondering, I will share the guarded secret of my facial cream. Being the African I am, I don’t weigh anything as I can judge the quantities by eye. But I’ll give a rough estimate of how much I use for your benefit.

What you will need

1. Shea butter – 3 teaspoons, (be generous) – from the shores of Nigeria, though you can pick this up in any decent black hair shop in London and the UK 

2. Aloe Vera gel – 1 and a half teaspoon – Holland and Barratts

3. Vitamin E oil – 4/5 drops – Holland and Barratts again

4. Glycerin – 1 teaspoon – any black hair and beauty shop

5. Sweet Almond oil -3/4 teaspoon – Asda

6. Extra Virgin Olive oil – 1/2 a teaspoon – Asda

7. Water – a few drops, the amount of water you add dictates the consistency of your cream. I would say roughly 2 teaspoons. You can add more, just don’t overdo it on the water otherwise it may end up a bit weird.

8. Container – to keep it in (in case you forgot) – I used an old face cream container

9. Lollipop stick or hands – to mix it all together (obvious hands or lollipop stick should be clean)

This is what mine looks like

image

image

So this is my day cream and night cream. My facial routine consists of

Washing my face with Ose dudu osun black soap (which I have lovingly raved about here https://memoirsofayorubagirl.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/product-review-dudu-osun-black-soap/  in case you were wondering). I sometimes use Olive oil soap instead of the black soap as well, which I picked up in Holland and Barratts. I don’t use it all the time and sometimes I can use both the Olive oil and the black soap together.

After I have washed my face and patted it dry, I apply my homemade face cream. And that is it.

If you try it, tell me what you think of it and hopefully I will be back with some more natural recipes (something for those dark circles under the eyes?)

Disclaimer: If you have a nut allergy, please feel free to tweak the recipe. I am not a chemist or a scientist (at least not a formally qualified one anyway, ;-))

2017 UPDATE – I do now use a store bought cream but an all natural one by Weleda

Until Next Time

MemoirsOfAYoruba Girl

X

About Memoirs Of A Yoruba Girl

A Londoner rooted in Yoruba culture exploring life behind her personal lenses

Posted on January 17, 2014, in All Things Natural and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

