I will never comb my hair again πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

Hi all

As the title states, it’s been a while since I combed my hair last πŸ˜…. Quite a long while. I am not attempting to loc my hair and become an “onirun dada” (also known as Rastafarian).

image

I fiercely resisted giving up the comb for a long time. A really long time. I used to think people that didn’t comb their hair were crazy. It was also a bit of laziness on my part because my previous experiences with finger detangling took forever (as if natural hair doesn’t take long enough already).

I kept realising however I was always dealing with split ends. It was extremely frustrating. I played wth the idea of shaving everything off and starting again. Then I realised I didn’t think my face could carry that style and I quickly changed my mind.

I FINALLY realised that my hair craves being handled gently, so I had to bite the bullet and give up combs. Suprisingly it has not been that bad.

It is still early days but I would say I am retaining a bit more length and I’m seeing the dreaded split ends a bit less. Please also note I have become friends with the scissors and have done more trimming/dusting than I had done previously. I don’t think I will leave combs forever, depends on how this “experiment” goes.

If you have 4c hair like me, maybe finger detangling is for you too! ✌

Until next time
Memoirs Of A Yoruba Girl
X

About Memoirs Of A Yoruba Girl

A Londoner rooted in Yoruba culture exploring life behind her personal lenses

Posted on January 20, 2016, in All Things Natural and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I wonder how your hair looks now.

  2. I’m a big advocate for every woman to experience total liberation from their hair at least once in their lifetime. I am finally growing my hair out from my cutting days and finger detangling although tedious and time consuming actually works well. My scalp always thanks me.

Leave a Reply

